Diploma
Veterinary Technician
Algonquin College · School of Wellness, Public Safety & Community Studies · Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Ontario College Diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusTwo years, four terms
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year full-time Ontario College Diploma with training in an on-campus Veterinary Learning Centre and Clinic, off-campus rotations and a six-week final practicum.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates for veterinary technician roles in practice, zoological, wildlife and research settings.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Wellness, Public Safety & Community Studies
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page says it prepares students to enter the veterinary profession as veterinary technicians and graduates may be considered for registration with the Ontario Association of Veterinary Technicians.“prepares you to enter the Veterinary profession by offering an authentic learning experience working alongside highly credentialed professionals”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to be considered for registration with the OAVT and CALAS.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Two years, four terms | – | Ontario Secondary School Diploma or equivalent with Grade 12 English and Mathematics and Grade 11/12 Biology and Chemistry at 70%Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: Algonquin College veterinary technician program, Ottawa (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years, four terms
- Clinical components
- On-campus Veterinary Learning Centre and Clinic plus off-campus rotations at partnering facilities
- Clinical placement
- 6-week final practicum6 weeks
- Intakes
- Fall (single annual intake)
- Campus
- Ottawa Campus1385 Woodroffe Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K2G 1V8
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- IELTS Academic overall 6.5 with 6.0 minimum in each band, or equivalent TOEFL/Duolingo scores
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Ontario Secondary School Diploma or equivalent
- Science prerequisites
- Grade 12 English and Mathematics, Grade 11 or 12 Biology and Chemistry, each 70% or higher
- Documents
- Laptop with camera and microphone expected
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)