Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Technology (BS)
Appalachian State University · Veterinary Technology Program (App State Online) · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science in Veterinary TechnologyBS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- OnlineFour-year, 120-credit-hour degree.
- Tuition
- $209per credit, as listed on program page, next start Spring 2027
About this program
Four-year online bachelor's in veterinary technology with 400 hours of clinical experience in veterinary settings and three focus-area tracks; the page notes general education can be taken in person at Boone or Hickory.
Role the program prepares for: Credentialed veterinary technician, with focus areas such as practice management or public health.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program (App State Online)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page presents the degree as the route to becoming a credentialed veterinary technician.“Now is the time to become a credentialed veterinary technician.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- App State states licensure-leading programs are intended to prepare students for licensure or certification in North Carolina; other states need separate checking.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Four-year, 120-credit-hour degree: 44 hours general education and 76 hours in the major. | – | First-year and transfer students are admitted.Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS
Scope: Appalachian State University, Veterinary Technology Program, Boone NC - Bachelor of Science (Online Modality); listed as INITIAL ACCREDITATION, next evaluation 2029. AVMA states initial accreditation means the program is officially accredited.
Dates: 19 September 2024 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Not published
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Mandatory in-person clinical hours in a veterinary setting for course credit (400 hours of practical experience through clinical experiences).
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Enrollment restrictions
- Licensure-leading programs are intended to prepare students for licensure or certification in North Carolina.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Four-year, 120-credit-hour degree.
- Clinical components
- 400 hours of practical experience obtained through clinical experiences.
- Campus attendance
- General education classes can be taken in-person at our campuses in Boone or Hickory.
- Clinical placement
- Clinical experiences at veterinary clinics and other animal health settings.400 hours of practical experience obtained through clinical experiences.
- Intakes
- Spring 2027
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Online tuition per credit hour, North Carolina residents (out-of-state rate on a separate page)Tuition | $209per credit, as listed on program page, next start Spring 2027 | NC Residents | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)