Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - first class planned Fall 2027
Arkansas State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Jonesboro, Arkansas, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- $34,500per year, Class Entry 2026 table as published (the college elsewhere says the first class starts in Fall 2027)
About this program
Four-year competency-based DVM program whose first class (#VetPack2031) is planned to start in Fall 2027; the college holds an AVMA COE letter of reasonable assurance, which is not accreditation.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page describes the DVM as preparing graduates to enter clinical practice as veterinarians.“prepare graduates to enter clinical practice as competent, compassionate veterinarians”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After a bachelor’s degree | four-year DVM program | – | Any bachelor's degree plus required prerequisite and elective coursework completed with C or better before July 15 of the admission yearSource |
| After pre-veterinary coursework | four-year DVM program (prerequisites-only route) | – | All required prerequisite courses completed for applicants without a bachelor's degree who do not qualify for the 3+4 routeSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationCandidate or initial statusUS
Scope: Arkansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine is listed under 'Letter of reasonable assurance colleges' by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2026, next evaluation 2027 (as printed). A letter of reasonable assurance is not accreditation: it precedes provisional accreditation, which may be granted when the initial cohort begins its first day of class.
Further requirements: The program is not accredited; the AVMA COE assigns a classification of accreditation after students enrol (per COE policy and the school's accreditation page).
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationCandidate or initial statusUS
Scope: School statement of the same status: letter of reasonable assurance received April 2026; no accreditation classification assigned yet
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Clinical components
- Year 4 is a community-centered clinical training model with clinical rotations
- Laboratory work
- Anatomy, clinical skills and surgical skills labs plus radiology and dental suites in the college teaching building
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Campus
- Arkansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine (Jonesboro)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- No experience requirement publishedA broad understanding of the profession is expected; animal experience with production animals, horses and other species is encouraged.
- Interview
- Not published
- Science prerequisites
- Required prerequisite and elective coursework completed with a grade of C or better prior to July 15 of the admission year
- Prior degree
- Three routes: any bachelor's degree, a '3+4' option, or prerequisites only
- Documents
- VMCAS application, A-State supplemental application with proof of Arkansas residency (if claimed) and English proficiency scores for international applicants
- Deadlines
- VMCAS deadline September 15, 2026 for #VetPack2031 (Fall 2027 entry) · Fall 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and University Fees, Arkansas resident (cost-of-attendance table headed Class Entry 2026)Tuition · mandatory | $34,500per year, Class Entry 2026 table as published (the college elsewhere says the first class starts in Fall 2027) | Arkansas Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition and University Fees, non-resident (cost-of-attendance table headed Class Entry 2026)Tuition · mandatory | $54,500per year, Class Entry 2026 table as published (the college elsewhere says the first class starts in Fall 2027) | Non-Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Clinical lab fee per academic yearClinical or laboratory charge · mandatory | $500per year, Class Entry 2026 table as published | Resident and non-resident | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)
- Official program page
- astate.edu/colleges/veterinary-medicine/admissions
- astate.edu/colleges/veterinary-medicine/admissions
- astate.edu/colleges/veterinary-medicine/admissions
- astate.edu/colleges/veterinary-medicine/admissions
- avma.org/education/center-for-veterinary-accredi
- astate.edu/colleges/veterinary-medicine/accreditat