Foundation degree
FdSc Veterinary Nursing
Askham Bryan College (University Centre Askham Bryan) · Veterinary Nursing, University Centre Askham Bryan · York, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Foundation Degree (FdSc) Veterinary NursingFdSc
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusThis course is 3-years full time including an industry placement year.
- Tuition
- £9,525per year, 2026/27 and 2027/2028
About this program
Three-year full-time foundation degree (Level 5) with an industry placement year of 1,800 hours in an approved training practice, offered at York and at the Gateshead Centre; graduates apply to the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary Nursing, University Centre Askham Bryan
- Awarding body
- Askham Bryan College
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Foundation degreeA foundation degree (for example FdSc), typically the first stage toward a bachelor’s qualification.
- Official level
- Course listing (qualification level) Level 5 · Printed in the course detailsAs stated in the source. A framework level does not make different national awards equivalent.
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states that graduates apply to enter the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses.“Upon successful completion of this course students apply to enter the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Students must secure a placement in an RCVS training practice for the 1,800 hours required; graduates apply to the RCVS Register.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 3 years full time including an industry placement year | – | 90 UCAS tariff points and five GCSEsSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionProvisional or probationary statusUK
Scope: RCVS register lists University Centre Askham Bryan as an accredited institution (2023) with provisional accreditation; the register page does not itemise qualifications or campuses
Dates: 1 January 2023 to not stated
Sources conflictRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: College page states the programme is fully accredited by the RCVS; this conflicts with the RCVS register entry (provisional accreditation, 2023) fetched on 2026-10-19
Further requirements: RCVS register shows Provisional accreditation for University Centre Askham Bryan; check the register before relying on the college statement.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- This course is 3-years full time including an industry placement year.
- Campus attendance
- This course is offered for study at our main York Campus or at our Gateshead Centre.
- Clinical placement
- Industry-based practice to complete 1800 hours RCVS nursing progress log will be split across year 1 and 2.1,800 hours
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Askham Bryan main campus (York)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- IELTS 6.0 with no element below 5.5, or direct equivalents (applicants whose first language is not English)
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 4 weeks work experience in total, at least 2 weeks in a small animal veterinary practice before applying; references required
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Five GCSEs at grade C/4 including English Language, Mathematics and Science; 90 UCAS tariff points ideally from two A2-level subjects including a science, or a relevant Level 3 vocational diploma
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Year 1 tuition (UK, Isle of Man and Channel Isles)Tuition · mandatory | £9,525per year, 2026/27 and 2027/2028 | UK, Isle of Man and Channel Isles Students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Year 2 (placement year) tuition (UK, Isle of Man and Channel Isles)Tuition · mandatory | £1,905per year, 2026/27 and 2027/2028 | UK, Isle of Man and Channel Isles Students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Year 3 tuition (UK, Isle of Man and Channel Isles)Tuition · mandatory | £9,525per year, 2026/27 and 2027/2028 | UK, Isle of Man and Channel Isles Students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Year 1 tuition (non-home / overseas)Tuition · mandatory | £14,500per year, 2026/27 and 2027/2028 | Non-Home (Overseas Students) | 19 October 2026Source |
| Year 2 (placement year) tuition (non-home / overseas)Tuition · mandatory | £2,025per year, 2026/27 and 2027/2028 | Non-Home (Overseas Students) | 19 October 2026Source |
| Year 3 tuition (non-home / overseas)Tuition · mandatory | £14,500per year, 2026/27 and 2027/2028 | Non-Home (Overseas Students) | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)