Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Nursing, Bachelor of Science
Atlantic Technological University · Veterinary Nursing, Atlantic Technological University Letterkenny · Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Nursing (Level 7)BSc
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingStated for Ireland
- Format
- On campusDuration 3 Years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year full-time ordinary degree (Level 7) at Letterkenny with six-week veterinary placements each semester that students must source themselves; accredited by the Veterinary Council of Ireland.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary Nursing, Atlantic Technological University Letterkenny
- Awarding body
- Atlantic Technological University
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Official level
- Course listing (level) Level 7 · Printed in the course detailsAs stated in the source. A framework level does not make different national awards equivalent.
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page describes the programme as preparing students to work as registered veterinary nurses and as fully accredited by the Veterinary Council of Ireland.“This programme is fully accredited by the Veterinary Council of Ireland and will teach you different aspects of science, clinical and surgical nursing, animal husbandry, ethics and laboratory management.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates of a VCI-accredited programme are eligible to apply to register as a veterinary nurse in Ireland (VCI page).Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 3 Years | – | Leaving Certificate (5 subjects at O6/H7)Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Stated by the schoolAccreditation Committee for Veterinary Nurse Education (ACOVENE)Program accreditationFull statusIE
Scope: University states the programme is accredited by the VCI and ACOVENE
Verified in official recordVeterinary Council of Ireland (VCI)Professional-body recognitionFull statusIE
Scope: VCI page lists Atlantic Technological University (formerly LYIT) among the five veterinary nursing programmes it currently accredits; the page lists the BScVN
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Duration 3 Years
- Campus attendance
- Method of Delivery On-campus
- Clinical placement
- This programme has a strong emphasis on practical skills and involves a six-week placement in each semester in a veterinary environment. Students must source their own placements.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Donegal - Letterkenny campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Overall average score of no less than 6.5 IELTS (or equivalent), with no individual section score less than 6.0
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Leaving Certificate: 5 subjects at O6/H7 including English or Irish, a science subject and Maths (or Foundation Maths at F2); QQI/FET CASAC or 5M2768 Animal Care alternative
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual student contribution charge (EU)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | €2,500per year, not stated | Total Fees EU | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)