Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) Professional Degree Program
Auburn University · Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine · Auburn, Alabama, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour-year program
- Tuition
- $32,662per year, nine-month academic year (current estimate)
About this program
Four-year professional program with a systems-based curriculum and a clinical year of rotations in the college's teaching hospitals.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page describes the DVM curriculum as imparting entry-level scientific knowledge for veterinary practice and notes NAVLE pass rates.“The DVM curriculum shall impart pertinent, entry-level scientific knowledge in a structured, professional framework.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- The page reports graduates' NAVLE pass rates and states the college expects at least an 80% pass rate.Source
- International applicants and graduates
- The college does not offer admission to international students or transfer students from another college of veterinary medicine.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | four-year program | 170 | Biological and physical science prerequisite courses (37 semester hours); applicants without a 4-year degree also complete core requirementsSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Auburn University DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2019, next evaluation 2026 (as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four-year program
- Credits
- 170 semester credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical components
- Each student must complete 15 core clinical rotations and 8 elective rotations, which are selected from a pre-approved list.
- Clinical placement
- Preceptorship (VMED 9801, 3 credit hours) appears in the final year of the curriculum
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine1130 Wire Rd, Auburn, AL 36849
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 500 hours working with veterinarians in a clinical setting.
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Alabama and Kentucky residents: minimum cumulative GPA 3.0; at-large applicants: 3.4 GPA on a 4.0 scale
- Science prerequisites
- Biology, chemistry and organic chemistry with labs (7-8 semester hours each), physics, biochemistry and two science electives; C- or better; completed by June 15 before entry
- Prior degree
- A four-year degree is not required; applicants without one complete the Auburn core requirements by June 15
- International applicants
- The college does not offer admission to international students.
- Tests explicitly required
- The GRE is not used to assess applicants for admission to Auburn's DVM program.
- Documents
- Applications through VMCAS; three letters of recommendation (one from a licensed practicing veterinarian); transcripts through VMCAS; application processing fee paid through the AUCVM website
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition & Fees (estimated nine-month academic year, cost-of-attendance table)Tuition · mandatory | $32,662per year, nine-month academic year (current estimate) | AL/KY Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition & Fees (estimated nine-month academic year, cost-of-attendance table)Tuition · mandatory | $56,638per year, nine-month academic year (current estimate) | Nonresident | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Federal and institutional student loans for professional students Loan
Basis not stated
Eligibility: Students who complete the FAFSA
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)
- Official program page
- vetmed.auburn.edu/academics/prospective-students/costs-an
- vetmed.auburn.edu/academics/prospective-students/applicat
- bulletin.auburn.edu/thegraduateschool/graduatedegreesoffere
- vetmed.auburn.edu/academics/prospective-students/applicat
- avma.org/education/center-for-veterinary-accredi
- vetmed.auburn.edu