Bachelor’s degree
Agriculture: Concentration Veterinary Technology
Austin Peay State University · Department of Agriculture · Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
- Official award
- B.S. in Agriculture with a concentration in Veterinary TechnologyBS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusBachelor's degree
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year bachelor's degree in agriculture with a veterinary technology concentration covering anatomy, clinical techniques, pharmacology, anesthesiology, surgical nursing, dental techniques and radiology.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Department of Agriculture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the concentration provides the training and knowledge needed to work as a veterinary technician.“The Veterinary Technology Concentration provides intensive study of the didactic and hands-on skills and knowledge needed to work competently as a veterinary technician”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates of the initially accredited concentration who pass the VTNE are eligible for licensure in Tennessee.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Bachelor of Science in General Agriculture with concentration in Veterinary Technology; AVMA list prints FULL ACCREDITATION (initial accreditation February 22, 2019; next evaluation 2029); the university page calls the concentration initially accredited
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Bachelor's degree
- Laboratory work
- A 1:8 faculty to student ratio for live animal handling
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Clarksville campus601 College Street, Clarksville, TN 37044
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Applicants must be admitted concurrently to the university; documents for early acceptance to the August class are due by February 22 of the year vet tech coursework begins.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)