Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Health Professions AAS - Veterinary Technology Program

Bergen Community College · Veterinary Technology Program (School of Veterinary Technology) · Paramus, New Jersey, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Health Professions Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) in veterinary technologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campusProgram Length: 24 months
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Twenty-four-month AAS in veterinary technology at Paramus with spring-semester admission, a standardised admissions exam and prerequisite courses.

Role the program prepares for: Entry-level veterinary technician working with veterinarians in large animal, small animal and laboratory animal settings.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technology Program (School of Veterinary Technology)
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program page says it is designed to train people to enter the field as certified veterinary technicians.“is designed to provide students with the coursework and training needed to enter into the field as a certified veterinary technician.”Source
Prior degree required
No
Further professional requirements
Once students complete the program they are prepared to take the veterinary technician licensure exam.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Depends on previous studyProgram length: 24 months–Prerequisite courses completed before acceptance; GPA of 2.00 for admissions eligibility; admissions exam.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Bergen Community College, School of Veterinary Technology, Paramus NJ - Associate of Applied Science; listed as FULL ACCREDITATION, next evaluation 2030

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Program Length: 24 months
Clinical components
Coursework, skill acquisition, and meaningful clinical experiences.
Intakes
Spring semester (year not stated on the cited page)
Campus
Paramus campus400 Paramus Road, Paramus, NJ 07652

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Science prerequisites
Prerequisite courses include ENG-101 English Composition, VET-102 Intro to Veterinary and VET-103 Vet Medical Terminology.
Tests explicitly required
Veterinary Technology Admissions Exam (Admissions Assessment Examination by HESI); fee payable to the examination company.
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction