Associate degree
Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary Technology (Traditional track)
Blinn College District · Veterinary Technology Program (Division of Natural & Physical Sciences) · Bryan, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusTwo years (traditional track); 60 credit hours
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year full-time traditional track with courses and labs on the Bryan campus; competitive entry with an interview for top applicants.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program (Division of Natural & Physical Sciences)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page says it prepares students to become licensed veterinary technicians.“The Blinn College District Veterinary Technology Program is a competitive-entry program designed to prepare students to become fully credentialed licensed veterinary technicians (LVTs).”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates complete licensure exams and earn Licensed Veterinary Technician status from the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.Source
- International applicants and graduates
- F-1 visa holders are not eligible to pursue this major; other non-citizen categories can apply and must pass all sections of the TOEFL.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology program, Bryan, TX; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation February 17, 2012; next evaluation 2028. The AVMA list does not mention the hybrid track.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years (traditional track); 60 credit hours
- Credits
- 60 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Fall (applications due April 30)
- Campus
- Bryan CampusPO Box 6030, Bryan, TX 77805
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredAt least 80 hours of veterinary-supervised clinical experience, documented.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Prerequisites BIOL 1406, MATH 1314 and ENGL 1301 with at least a C; accepted as a Blinn student; GPA above 2.5 strongly recommended.
- Documents
- Application packet, three references, veterinary experience documentation
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees for the associate degree program (approximate)Other compulsory charge | $15,000whole program, approximate, year not stated | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)