Associate degree
Associate Degree in Veterinary Technology
Blue Ridge Community and Technical College · School of Workforce Development and Engineering Technologies · Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus2-year degree program, 60 credit hours
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year, 60-credit, on-campus associate degree with a competitive, scored application; students declare the Animal Science Certificate before applying.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Workforce Development and Engineering Technologies
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the degree prepares students for the VTNE and work as Registered Veterinary Technicians.“students receive the education and hands-on experience necessary to prepare them to take the VTNE (Veterinary Technician National Exam) and then to work as Registered Veterinary Technicians.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Martinsburg, WV; Associate of/in Applied Science; the AVMA list prints status INITIAL ACCREDITATION (initial accreditation February 8, 2024; next evaluation 2029)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 2-year degree program, 60 credit hours
- Credits
- 60 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical components
- Veterinary simulations and clinical internships within the local veterinary community
- Campus attendance
- On-campus format
- Intakes
- Fall
- Campus
- Martinsburg campus13650 Apple Harvest Drive, Martinsburg, WV 25401
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Apply to the college and declare the Animal Science Certificate as major; competitive scored Veterinary Technology application.
- Documents
- Veterinary Technology application and supporting documents due by April 30th each year
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)