Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology (Distance Education Option), A.A.S.

Blue Ridge Community College · Veterinary Technology Program · Weyers Cave, Virginia, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied ScienceAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
HybridNine semesters total, includes three summers (three year program); 3-year clinical preceptorship
Tuition
Not published

Hybrid program

Part of this program is taught in person. It is not described as fully online. Professional pathway status is recorded separately from delivery.

About this program

Three-year part-time distributive-delivery associate degree for people already working in veterinary practices; live classes twice weekly, laboratories on campus and a continuing clinical preceptorship.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technology Program
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program states its purpose as preparing students for the Veterinary Technician National Exam; the distance option is designed for people working as veterinary assistants.“The Veterinary Technology Program at Blue Ridge Community College is dedicated to providing an effective base of knowledge to students”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
Graduates are eligible to take the VTNE; BRCC has not determined whether the program meets the requirements of other states.Source
International applicants and graduates
The DE option only admits out-of-state students that are engaged in a preceptorship within the state of Virginia.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Distance learning option (Virginia residents only, as printed), Weyers Cave, VA; Associate of Applied Science; distance learning initial accreditation November 1999; next evaluation 2030

Study structure

Delivery
HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Mostly online
Mandatory campus attendance
Yes
Campus residencies or workshops
Laboratories on the BRCC campus three times per semester on average, typically all day on Friday.
Laboratory work
Required laboratories on the BRCC campus, three times per semester on average
Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
Three-year clinical preceptorship in a veterinary hospital (minimum 20 hours per week) plus a 350-hour coordinated externship in the summer between the second and third year.
Placement arrangement
Student arranges the placement
Must already work in a veterinary setting
Yes
Placement site approval
Yes
Live attendance
Live sessions required
International enrolment
Not published
Enrollment restrictions
Out-of-state students are admitted only if engaged in a preceptorship within the state of Virginia.
Study mode
Part-time
Duration
Nine semesters total, includes three summers (three year program); 3-year clinical preceptorship
Campus attendance
Laboratories on the BRCC campus three times per semester
Clinical placement
350-hour coordinated externship in the summer between the second and third year350 hours
Intakes
Summer 2027 academic start
Campus
Weyers Cave campusOne College Lane, Weyers Cave, VA 24486

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience requiredObservation of a licensed veterinary technician for a minimum of 40 hours within the last calendar year; employment with a preceptor veterinarian from program start.
Interview
Interview possible
Previous qualification
SDV, ENG 111, CHM 110 and 3 other curriculum credits completed (or in progress) at application; must be employed at least 20 hours per week by a veterinarian willing to serve as official preceptor.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction