Associate degree
Veterinary Technology (On-Campus Option), A.A.S.
Blue Ridge Community College · Veterinary Technology Program · Weyers Cave, Virginia, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied ScienceAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFive semesters total, includes one summer (two-year program)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year full-time on-campus associate degree with a competitive admission process and a 350-hour summer externship.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program states its purpose as teaching knowledge and skills that prepare students for the Veterinary Technician National Exam.“The Veterinary Technology Program at Blue Ridge Community College is dedicated to providing an effective base of knowledge to students”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to take the VTNE and apply for a license to practice as a veterinary technician; BRCC has not determined whether the program meets requirements of any other states.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: On-campus option, Weyers Cave, VA; Associate of Applied Science; on-campus initial accreditation November 1976; next evaluation 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Five semesters total, includes one summer (two-year program)
- Clinical placement
- Coordinated externship in the summer between the first and second year, 350 hours in a veterinary hospital350 hours
- Intakes
- Applications due the final business day of January for summer enrollment
- Campus
- Weyers Cave campusOne College Lane, Weyers Cave, VA 24486
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredObservation of a licensed veterinary technician in a veterinary hospital for a minimum of 40 hours within the last calendar year.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- High school diploma or equivalent; ENG 111 and CHM 110 completed before application (or in progress); official transcripts.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)