Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Clemson University · Harvey S. Peeler Jr. College of Veterinary Medicine · Clemson, South Carolina, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
New four-year competency-based DVM (160 credits) with clinical rotations in the fourth year; first class admitted Fall 2026; not yet AVMA accredited.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Harvey S. Peeler Jr. College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says students working toward the DVM will be equipped with the knowledge and skills to become working veterinary professionals.“Students working toward their doctorate of veterinary medicine (DVM) will be equipped with proper scientific knowledge and the necessary skills to become a working professional in veterinary medicine.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- International applicants and graduates
- At this time applications are accepted only from permanent U.S. residents or U.S. citizens.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year DVM program | 160 | Prerequisite coursework with C- or betterSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationCandidate or initial statusUS
Scope: DVM program, Clemson University (Clemson, SC); listed under Letter of reasonable assurance colleges (a pre-accreditation step, not accreditation); last evaluation 2025, next evaluation 2027
Further requirements: Provisional accreditation is considered when the first cohort begins; the program is not yet accredited.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationCandidate or initial statusUS
Scope: School statement: Letter of Reasonable Assurance received; first class admitted Fall 2026 (no accreditation status stated)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Credits
- 160 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical components
- Clinical rotations are introduced in the fourth year.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Clemson campus (Peeler College of Veterinary Medicine)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Prerequisite courses completed with C- or better; no more than two prerequisite courses in progress or planned for the term following submission.
- Documents
- VMCAS application with official transcripts; asynchronous virtual interview through Kira Talent for selected applicants.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)