Associate degree
Veterinary Technology (AAS-VET)
Coastal Alabama Community College · Nursing and Allied Health Division · Bay Minette, Alabama, United States
- Official award
- AAS in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- HybridFive Semesters
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
A five-semester hybrid associate degree that prepares students to work as veterinary technicians, combining online coursework, scheduled campus attendance and weekly clinical hours at an approved Alabama veterinary facility.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician working under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian in veterinary offices and clinics.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Nursing and Allied Health Division
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page says it prepares students to enter the veterinary technology services occupation under veterinary supervision.“This program is designed to provide students the opportunity to acquire knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary to enter the Veterinary Technology services occupation as employees of veterinary offices and clinics.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to apply with AAVSB to sit for the Veterinary Technology National Exam (VTNE); application requirements may vary by state licensing agency.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | Five Semesters | 71 | Unconditional admission to the college plus a separate Veterinary Technology application; limited to 24 students.Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, 1900 Hwy 31 South, Bay Minette, AL 36507; Associate of Applied Science. AVMA list entry printed 'Coastal Alabama Community College (formerly named Faulkner State Community College)'. Next evaluation 2031.
Dates: 13 March 2015 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Blended with required campus elements
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Yes
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Students come to campus on designated dates.
- Laboratory work
- Includes hands-on practical instruction; veterinary technology testing/lab fees may be assessed for select courses.
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Weekly clinicals at an approved veterinary facility in Alabama are mandatory.
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Yes
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Enrollment restrictions
- Clinical sites must be in Alabama; students without previous veterinary experience complete clinical hours in an approved site in Mobile or Baldwin County.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Five Semesters
- Credits
- 71 semester credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical components
- Weekly clinicals at an approved veterinary facility in Alabama; a VET 250 Veterinary Tech Preceptorship course is part of the curriculum.
- Campus attendance
- Students must come to campus at designated dates.
- Clinical placement
- Approved clinical site in Alabama; Mobile or Baldwin County for students without previous veterinary experience.
- Intakes
- Fall Semester, Spring Semester
- Campus
- Bay Minette Campus1900 Hwy 31 South, Bay Minette, AL 36507
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience recommendedFive selection points are awarded for veterinary experience; students without experience are encouraged to enter in Fall.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Unconditional admission to the College and active student in good standing (minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA); must be 18 by the beginning of the fall semester in the program.
- Science prerequisites
- For Spring entry: ENG 101, MTH 100 and BIO 103 completed or in progress with a grade of C or higher by the application deadline; for Fall entry eligibility for ENG 101 and MTH 100.
- Documents
- Separate Veterinary Technology online application; original transcripts; after acceptance a drug screen, background check, physical exam, immunization record and proof of medical insurance.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)