Associate degree
Distance Learning Veterinary Nursing
Colby Community College · Veterinary Nursing Program · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary Nursing (distance learning)AAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingStated for United States
- Format
- Hybrid
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
Distance-learning associate degree with online coursework; students complete AVMA essential skills in veterinary hospitals and record them on video for faculty review.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary Nursing Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“If so, a career as a veterinary nurse may be right for you.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Nursing Distance Education Program, Associate of Applied Science
Dates: 12 September 2014 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Mostly online
- Mandatory campus attendance
- No
- Campus residencies or workshops
- On-campus weekend mentorships are offered in fall and spring for the large animal, laboratory animal/exotic pet and microbiology mentorship courses as a convenience.
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Starting with the second-term courses, students are required to work with veterinary hospitals to complete AVMA-required hands-on skills; veterinary clinical experience courses add hospital experience.
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- No live sessions
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Credits
- 82 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)