Associate degree
Veterinary Technology, AAS
Collin College · Veterinary Technology program · Wylie, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Selective-admission associate degree teaching physical exams, nursing care, dentistry, anesthesia monitoring and imaging; applicants need 80 hours of clinical experience and take an interview and assessment.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program gives students the skills to work in veterinary clinics, hospitals, research facilities and shelters, using veterinary technician skills.“The Veterinary Technology program is designed to give students the knowledge and skills needed to work in veterinary clinics, specialty hospitals, research facilities, and animal shelters.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Wylie, TX; Associate of Applied Science; the AVMA list prints status INITIAL ACCREDITATION (initial accreditation January 27, 2022; next evaluation 2027)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Wylie campus391 Country Club Road, Suite 301, Wylie, TX 75098
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredAt least 80 hours of clinical experience under an LVT or DVM, paid or volunteer.
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- High school diploma or GED; enrolled at Collin College; pre-program courses (BIOL 1406, MATH 1314, ENGL 1301) with C or better.
- Documents
- Work experience form for each location; program application; proof of vaccinations; background check and drug screening before enrollment
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)