Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology, Associate of Applied Science

Colorado Mesa University · CMU Tech Veterinary Technology Program · Grand Junction, Colorado, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campus18 months after admission to the program
Tuition
Not published

About this program

A selective-entry associate degree in veterinary technology that can be completed in 18 months after admission, with clinical experience each semester and externships at local clinics.

Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician in small and large animal practice, shelters, zoos, research and related settings.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
CMU Tech Veterinary Technology Program
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program page describes veterinary technicians' tasks and says the program is for people who want careers as members of the veterinary team.“The Veterinary Technology program is for those who wish to develop careers as an important member of the veterinary team”Source
Prior degree required
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Depends on previous study18 months after admission to the program–Selective admission: minimum requirements, an application and an interview.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, 2508 Blichmann Avenue, Grand Junction, CO 81505; Associate of Applied Science. AVMA status printed as INITIAL ACCREDITATION (listed as 'Colorado Mesa University (formerly Western Colorado Community College)'). Next evaluation printed as 2026.

    Dates: 17 June 2021 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
18 months after admission to the program
Clinical components
Clinical experience during every semester; integrated learning with local veterinarians.
Clinical placement
Externships with local clinics.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
CMU Tech campus (Blichmann Avenue)2508 Blichmann Avenue, Grand Junction, CO 81505

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Interview required
Previous qualification
Minimum requirements plus a selection process.
Documents
Application packet downloaded from the program page.
Deadlines
  • The deadline for submitting an Application is September 15, 2026 at 5:00pm MST · this date has passed; check the current cycle
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction