Veterinary Schools

Professional doctorate

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M.) Program

Colorado State University · College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences · Fort Collins, Colorado, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for United States
Format
On campusFour years; clinical rotations from the summer after year two
Tuition
$43,193per year, 2026-2027 cost of attendance

About this program

Four-year Ascend curriculum with an eight-week biomedical foundation unit, system blocks, and clinical rotations starting the summer after year two in on-site teaching hospitals.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The accreditation page states that graduation from an accredited college of veterinary medicine is a standard prerequisite for licensure for professional veterinary practice.“Graduation from an accredited institution is a standard prerequisite for licensure for professional veterinary practice.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
After pre-veterinary courseworkfour years (years one to four)–Prerequisite courses completed with C- or above by July 15 before matriculationSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Colorado State University DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2022, next evaluation 2029 (as printed)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Four years; clinical rotations from the summer after year two
Clinical components
Clinical rotations in the CSU Veterinary Health System; the DVM page cites 28+ weeks of specialty practice
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Colorado State University - College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences1601 Campus Delivery, Fort Collins, CO 80523-1601

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Science prerequisites
Prerequisite courses completed with a grade of C- or above by July 15 before matriculation at a CHEA-accredited institution; biochemistry, cell biology, genetics and systems physiology within the last ten years
Prior degree
A four-year degree fulfils the English composition prerequisite; a degree is otherwise not stated as required
Tests explicitly required
GRE not required and not considered.
Documents
VMCAS application, Colorado Supplemental Application ($85 non-refundable fee), three letters of recommendation, transcripts received by VMCAS
Deadlines
  • VMCAS application and Colorado Supplemental Application due September 15, 2026 (2027 cycle; the page states both are now closed) · Fall 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition & Fees, Veterinary Medicine Years 1-3, Sponsored (full-time, full year)Tuition · mandatory$43,193per year, 2026-2027 cost of attendanceSponsored19 October 2026Source
Tuition & Fees, Veterinary Medicine Years 1-3, Non-Sponsored (full-time, full year)Tuition · mandatory$69,277per year, 2026-2027 cost of attendanceNon-Sponsored19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • D.V.M. program scholarships for incoming students; Health Professions Loan; federal financial aid Scholarship

    Competitive

    Eligibility: Incoming students; details emailed in early May

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked