Master’s degree
Master of Science in Veterinary Clinical Care
Colorado State University · College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences · Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
- Official award
- Master of Science in Veterinary Clinical CareMS
- Pathway
- Not classified
- Format
- HybridFive semesters
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
Five-semester master's that prepares graduates to pursue licensing as a Colorado veterinary professional associate, a supervised mid-level role limited to dog and cat care; the first three semesters are online and later semesters are in person and in a clinical internship.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary professional associate (VPA), a supervised mid-level role in Colorado.
- Subject
- Veterinary clinical sciences
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
- Prior degree required
- Yes
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates become eligible to take a new board examination required to be licensed as a veterinary professional associate in Colorado.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After a bachelor’s degree | five semesters | – | Bachelor's degree from a CHEA-accredited institution, prerequisite courses, minimum 150 hours of veterinary experienceSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Mostly online
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Yes
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Semester four includes 416 hours of in-person training at CSU's Veterinary Hospital and Education Complex in Fort Collins, CO.
- Laboratory work
- In-person training in semester four at the CSU hospital complex
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Semester five is a 540-hour clinical internship at an approved community partner (shelter or practice), primarily in Colorado.
- Placement arrangement
- Institution arranges the placement
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Yes
- Live attendance
- Live sessions required
- International enrolment
- Yes
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Five semesters
- Clinical placement
- Semester five: 540-hour clinical internship at an approved community partner (shelter or practice); the internship coordinator secures the location416 hours in-person training (semester four); 540-hour internship (semester five)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Colorado State University - College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences1601 Campus Delivery, Fort Collins, CO 80523-1601
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- TOEFL minimum 550 paper / 213 computer / 80 internet, or IELTS 6.5
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 150 hours of verifiable veterinary work or volunteer experience.
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor's degree from a CHEA-accredited institution; a science bachelor's is not required if prerequisites are met; minimum GPA 3.0 (exceptions 2.5-2.99)
- International applicants
- Applications from international students are accepted provided they meet all admission requirements.
- Documents
- Online Graduate Application; official transcripts; two references including one from a recent supervisor of veterinary experience; three essays; non-refundable application fee
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)