Associate degree
Veterinary Technology A.A.S.
Columbia State Community College · Health Sciences Division - Veterinary Technology · Columbia, Tennessee, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFive semesters; clinical training in the final three
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Limited-enrollment associate degree taught on campus; students complete clinical training in Middle Tennessee veterinary facilities in the last three of five semesters.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician (clinical pathology, radiology, surgical assisting and similar duties).
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Health Sciences Division - Veterinary Technology
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page describes the degree as preparing students for work as veterinary technicians providing technical support to veterinarians and researchers.“A veterinary technician primarily functions as professional technical support to veterinarians, biomedical researchers and other scientists.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Columbia, TN; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation April 1979; next evaluation 2031
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Five semesters; clinical training in the final three
- Clinical components
- Clinical training in Middle Tennessee veterinary facilities for the final three of the five required semesters; students provide own transportation
- Campus attendance
- Courses are not offered online
- Intakes
- Fall (new classes begin only in the fall semester)
- Campus
- Columbia campus1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia, TN 38401
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredAn eight-hour observation period in a veterinary clinic is part of admission; prior veterinary work experience is not required.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Application to the college, transcripts, program packet, letter of reference; ACT/placement testing as described; class size is limited and admission is not guaranteed.
- Documents
- Program packet, letter of reference, signed student policy manual form
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)