Veterinary Schools

Professional doctorate

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)

Cornell University · Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine · Ithaca, New York, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for United States
Format
On campusFour years
Tuition
$46,230per year, 2026-2027

About this program

Four-year professional DVM at the Ithaca campus with extensive on-campus clinical training and clinical pathways chosen in the third year.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The page presents the DVM as training for primary care veterinarians, hospital specialists and scientists; NAVLE is a licensure requirement.“Whether you aspire to be a primary care veterinarian, a specialist working in a hospital, or a scientist solving issues in animal health”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
The NAVLE is a requirement for licensure to practise veterinary medicine in all licensing jurisdictions in the US and Canada.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
After pre-veterinary courseworkFour-year curricular schedule–Prerequisite undergraduate courses (biology, chemistry, physics, English composition, biochemistry and others)Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, Cornell University (Ithaca, NY); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2031

  • Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: School statement: full accreditation; last site visit December 2024, next fall 2031

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Four years
Clinical components
Extensive on-campus clinical training; third-year students choose one of six clinical pathways.
Intakes
2027 (Class of 2031)
Campus
Ithaca campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Ithaca, NY 14853-6401

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience recommendedVeterinary medical experience is highly recommended; no minimum number of hours; non-veterinary animal experience also valued.
Interview
Not published
Science prerequisites
Year of biology with labs, year of chemistry with labs, year of physics with labs (6 semester credits each), English composition or writing-intensive courses (6), biochemistry (3), and further required courses for the Class of 2031 onward.
Documents
VMCAS application with embedded Cornell supplemental section; three evaluation letters via VMCAS eLOR (one from a veterinarian, one from an advisor or faculty member); New York residency form for NY residents.
Deadlines
  • September 15: VMCAS electronic application, transcripts and eLORs due (Class of 2031, 2026-2027 application) · 2027 (Class of 2031) · this date has passed; check the current cycle
  • April 15: enrollment decision and $500 deposit due from admitted students · 2027 (Class of 2031) (2027)
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition (New York State resident)Tuition · mandatory$46,230per year, 2026-2027New York State Resident19 October 2026Source
Tuition (non-New York State resident)Tuition · mandatory$68,935per year, 2026-2027Non-New York State Resident19 October 2026Source
Mandatory fees (student activity and student health fees)Other compulsory charge · mandatory$701per year, 2026-2027All students19 October 2026Source
Enrollment deposit for admitted students accepting the offerDeposit · mandatory$500one-time, Class of 2031Admitted students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked