Veterinary Schools

Diploma

Veterinary Technology (DipTech)

Dalhousie University - Faculty of Agriculture (Truro) · Faculty of Agriculture - Animal Science and Aquaculture · Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

Official award
Diploma in Veterinary Technology
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
Format
On campusTwo years
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Two-year diploma at the Agricultural Campus in Truro oriented mainly toward companion animals, with enrolment limited to 40 students and an externship at the Atlantic Veterinary College.

Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates to work as technicians alongside veterinarians, researchers and other animal professionals.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Faculty of Agriculture - Animal Science and Aquaculture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The page states the program prepares students to work as veterinary technicians.“This program is accredited by the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association, so you’ll be prepared to work as a technician with practicing veterinarians”Source
Prior degree required
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Entry from secondary schoolTwo years–Grade 12 with Academic English, Academic Math, Biology 12 and Chemistry 12 and CASPerSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA

    Scope: Dalhousie University veterinary technology program, Truro (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Two years
Clinical components
Dedicated small animal veterinary teaching hospital, campus farm and on-campus animal clinic
Clinical placement
Off-campus externship at the Atlantic Veterinary College in Charlottetown and in general veterinary practices
Intakes
September
Campus
Agricultural Campus (Truro and Bible Hill)P.O. Box 550, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5E3

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Completion of secondary school (Grade 12) and Grade 12 English
Science prerequisites
Academic English 12, Academic Math 12, Biology 12, Chemistry 12
Tests explicitly required
CASPer test
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction