Associate degree
Veterinary Technology A.A.S. (Distance Education Program, DEVTP)
Dallas College · Veterinary Technology Program · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- OnlineEstimated time to completion: 2 years for full-time students
- Tuition
- $5,940whole program, As shown October 2026
About this program
Distance education associate degree in veterinary technology for students who work in a veterinary hospital or clinic with a designated preceptor; an on-campus program is offered separately.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The pathway page says the AVMA-accredited A.A.S. makes graduates eligible for the national and state exams to become credentialed veterinary technicians.“graduates of the program are eligible to take the national and state exams required to become a credentialed Veterinary Technician (LVT, RVT, or CVT depending on your state of residence)”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to take the national and state exams for credentialing as LVT, RVT or CVT depending on state of residence.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Distance Education Program, Associate in Applied Science (as listed by AVMA)
Dates: 1 September 2001 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Not published
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Not stated on the pages read.
- In-person assessment
- Preceptors verify that students have completed exercises, assignments and examinations at the clinic; no campus exam is described.
- Laboratory work
- Multimedia courses combine textbooks, videos, online assignments and in-clinic exercises.
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Mandatory employment in a veterinary hospital or clinic with a designated preceptor: the pathway map requires employment of at least 20 hours per week in a veterinary hospital for the remaining classes (OCCI documents) and at least 15 hours per week with a clinic for the cooperative education course VTHT 2380 (option 2).
- Placement arrangement
- Student arranges the placement
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Yes
- Placement site approval
- Yes
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Estimated time to completion: 2 years for full-time students
- Credits
- 60 Semester credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical placement
- Employment in a veterinary hospital (20 hr/wk minimum) with OCCI documents; cooperative education requires 15 hr/wk with a veterinary clinic (option 2)
- Intakes
- Not published
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estimated tuition total, Veterinary Technology A.A.S. (as shown on the degrees page; not specific to the distance option)Tuition | $5,940whole program, As shown October 2026 | in-county residents | 19 October 2026Source |
Published program total: $5,940 (Other fee category). Whole-program tuition as published.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)