Diploma
Veterinary Technology Diploma (full-time)
Douglas College · Veterinary Technology (VTEC) · New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
- Official award
- Veterinary Technology Diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusTwo years (4 semesters plus practicums)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Full-time in-person diploma completed in two years (four semesters plus practicums) with 30 seats per intake and very competitive admission. A part-time hybrid stream is not currently accepting applications.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates as veterinary technologists on a veterinary health care team.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology (VTEC)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states graduates may write the VTNE and qualify for registration as veterinary technicians.“Graduates are eligible to write the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) and thus qualify for registration in Canada and in many parts of the United States.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to write the VTNE.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | Two years (4 semesters plus practicums) | – | Academic transcripts, work experience log and entrance questionnaire; see program catalogue for course requirementsSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: Douglas College veterinary technology, New Westminster (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years (4 semesters plus practicums)
- Clinical placement
- Mandatory off-site labs, practicums and field trips; students arrange their own transport
- Intakes
- September
- Campus
- New Westminster CampusPO Box 2503, New Westminster, BC V3B 7X3
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredProof of veterinary hospital and other animal-related work experience (Task Observation Form and log) is submitted with the application.
- Interview
- Not published
- Documents
- Transcripts, work experience log and task observation form, program entrance questionnaire; rabies vaccination series after accepting a seat
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)