Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology (A.S.)

Eastern Florida State College · Veterinary Technician Program, EFSC Health Sciences · Cocoa, Florida, United States

Official award
Associate in Science in Veterinary TechnologyAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campusTwo-year Associate in Science degree
Tuition
Not published

About this program

A full-time, in-person two-year associate degree in veterinary technology taught with an on-campus clinical facility; entry is limited and selected by a point system.

Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician (Certified Veterinary Technician in Florida) providing technical support to veterinarians and researchers.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technician Program, EFSC Health Sciences
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program page says graduates are qualified to take the Veterinary Technician National Examination and become Certified Veterinary Technicians in Florida.“A graduate of the Veterinary Technology program is qualified to take the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE).”Source
Prior degree required
No
Further professional requirements
Graduates are qualified to take the VTNE; after passing the board they are designated Certified Veterinary Technician in Florida, with continuing education and renewal every two years.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Depends on previous studyTwo-year Associate in Science degree that begins each Fall–Limited-access program; separate program application and point-based selection in addition to general college admission.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, 1519 Clearlake Road, Cocoa, FL 32922; Associate in Science. AVMA list entry printed 'Eastern Florida State College (formerly Brevard Community College)'. Next evaluation 2027.

    Dates: 1 November 1999 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Two-year Associate in Science degree
Clinical components
Clinical practice under faculty supervision in the college's veterinary facility.
Campus attendance
Full time, in person, typically Monday through Thursday between 8am and 5pm, with a few hybrid and online courses.
Intakes
Fall Term
Campus
Cocoa Campus1519 Clearlake Road, Cocoa, FL 32922

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience requiredA minimum of 40 hours of observation, volunteer and/or work experience in a veterinary office, wildlife rehab, zoo, or animal shelter setting; pet store, grooming and backyard rescue hours are not accepted.
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
General admission to EFSC; a minimum GPA of 2.0 is required for acceptance into the program.
Science prerequisites
General education courses are suggested before the application deadline but not required for acceptance; applicants who have completed or are enrolled in all of them with a C or better receive 25 bonus points.
Documents
Program application; 300-word essay; veterinary experience form; transcripts. The annual application deadline for a Fall start is April 1 (no year printed).
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, clinical placement details.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction