Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology (A.A.S.)

Eastern Wyoming College · Veterinary Sciences Department · Torrington, Wyoming, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campusCoursework can be completed in four semesters followed by a clinical externship, or spread over five semesters.
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Associate degree for veterinary technicians; coursework takes four or five semesters followed by a clinical externship.

Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician performing laboratory, surgical assistance, restraint, treatment, anesthesia and radiology procedures.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Sciences Department
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The college page states the department's graduates earn the AAS for veterinary technicians and that the program is AVMA accredited.“Associate of Applied Science egree for Veterinary Technicians”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Torrington, WY; Associate in Applied Science; initial accreditation April 1976; next evaluation 2029

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Coursework can be completed in four semesters followed by a clinical externship, or spread over five semesters.
Clinical placement
clinical externship after coursework
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Torrington campus3200 West C Street, Torrington, WY 82240

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience recommendedIncoming students are recommended to spend at least one week (40 hours) working or observing veterinary medicine.
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction