Integrated (single-cycle) qualification
Diplôme d'État de docteur vétérinaire
State diploma of Doctor of Veterinary Medicine
École nationale vétérinaire de Toulouse (ENVT) · École nationale vétérinaire de Toulouse · Toulouse, Occitanie, France
- Official award
- Diplôme d'État de docteur vétérinaire
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for France
- Format
- On campusAt least six years after the baccalauréat (post-bac route); seven years or more via the other routes
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Six-year single-cycle veterinary course (years 1-4 mainly theory, years 5-6 clinical) leading to the state diploma of doctor of veterinary medicine; admission is only by national competitive concours. The ENVT describes the course as a common core followed by a specialisation year.
Role the program prepares for: Qualifies graduates as docteur vétérinaire for animal health, veterinary public health and food-safety careers.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- École nationale vétérinaire de Toulouse
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Integrated (single-cycle) qualificationA single-cycle qualification entered from secondary school that the national system treats as master’s-level. It is not forced into the bachelor’s or master’s lists: the official level and entry route are shown instead.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The national concours page states that the doctor of veterinary medicine diploma is the only diploma giving full right to practise veterinary medicine and surgery in France.“seul Diplôme qui permet l’exercice de plein droit de la médecine et de la chirurgie vétérinaires.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Depends on route
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | six years minimum (post-bac route) | – | Post-bac national competitive entrance (concours via Parcoursup), entering the common first yearSource |
| Depends on previous study | seven years or more for the other entry routes | – | Entry in second year by concours after at least two years of higher education (CPGE BCPST/TB, licence, BUT, BTS/BTSA, Bac+5)Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordEuropean Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education (EAEVE) - ESEVTProgram evaluation statusFull statusEU
Scope: ESEVT outcome status of the veterinary education establishment (Toulouse), table updated after the ECOVE meeting of 28.09.2026
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- At least six years after the baccalauréat (post-bac route); seven years or more via the other routes
- Clinical components
- Years 1 to 4 mainly theory; years 5 and 6 are clinical training years; sixth year specialisation and doctoral thesis
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Campus de l'ENVT23 chemin des Capelles, 31076 Toulouse cedex 3
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Concours post-bac in the final school year, or national concours after two or more years of higher education
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)