Associate degree
Veterinary Technology, Associate in Science
Foothill College · Veterinary Technology Program, Health Sciences and Horticulture Division · Los Altos Hills, California, United States
- Official award
- Associate in Science Degree in Veterinary TechnologyAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusTwo-year Associates Degree program
- Tuition
- $2,852whole program, whole program, as published
About this program
A two-year full-time associate degree in veterinary technology with sequenced courses, a rabies-vaccination requirement for handling program animals and a random draw among eligible applicants.
Role the program prepares for: Registered Veterinary Technician (California); the catalog states it is not a pre-veterinary or veterinary medicine curriculum.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program, Health Sciences and Horticulture Division
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The catalog says the two-year AVMA-accredited program prepares students for employment as Registered Veterinary Technicians.“prepares the student for employment as a Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT).”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible for state licensing as a Registered Veterinary Technician and meet the minimum eligibility requirements for the California Veterinary Technician Licensing Examination.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | Two-year Associates Degree program | – | Prerequisite coursework completed before the application deadline; up to 32 students are randomly drawn from eligible applicants once a year.Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, 12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA 94022; Associate in Science. Next evaluation 2028.
Dates: 1 April 1977 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two-year Associates Degree program
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Foothill College campus12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA 94022
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Cumulative college GPA of 2.0 or higher; science prerequisites (BIOL 10, BIOL 41, CHEM 30A) with a minimum GPA of 2.5.
- Science prerequisites
- General biology, microbiology and survey of inorganic and organic chemistry, plus intermediate algebra and VT 51 Introduction to Veterinary Technology with C or higher.
- Documents
- Program application and transcripts due April 21 (the page does not print a year); rabies vaccine series required before working with live animals.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, 92 units of Vet Tech courses (state resident)Tuition · mandatory | $2,852whole program, whole program, as published | state resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Total cost of program (approximate, includes tuition and other listed items)Other compulsory charge | $6,000whole program, whole program, as published | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Rabies vaccination series (approximate)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $1,200one-time, whole program, as published | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Published program total: $2,852 (In-state residents). Whole-program tuition as published.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)