Associate degree
Veterinary Technician - Associate Degree
Fox Valley Technical College · Agriculture - Veterinary Technician program · Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
- Official award
- Associate Degree (AAS) in Veterinary TechnicianAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus65 credits; core classes start in fall terms only
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
65-credit associate degree preparing students for clinical nursing tasks with large and small animals; a high-demand program with a 1-2 year estimated wait before core courses.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Agriculture - Veterinary Technician program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program prepares students to collect patient history, place catheters, anesthetize and monitor patients and assist in surgery, and that graduates can become Certified Veterinary Technicians.“The program has received Initial Accreditation from the AVMA-CVTEA, which allows graduates to complete the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) and become a Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT).”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- International applicants and graduates
- Due to demand, licensure and Wisconsin residency laws, in-district residents are prioritized.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Appleton, WI; Associate in Applied Science; the AVMA list prints status INITIAL ACCREDITATION (initial accreditation February 18, 2021; next evaluation 2026)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 65 credits; core classes start in fall terms only
- Credits
- 65 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Campus
- Appleton campus1825 N. Bluemound Drive, Appleton, WI 54912
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Final official high school transcript or GED/HSED; academic skills assessment (high school GPA 2.75+, an associate degree or higher, GED score, ACT or Accuplacer); rabies vaccination before core coursework.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estimated program cost based on current tuition and feesOther compulsory charge | $12,400whole program, estimate shown on page (year not stated) | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)