Associate degree
Veterinary Technology, Associate of Applied Science
Front Range Community College · Veterinary Technology program · Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- HybridFive semesters
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
A five-semester full-time hybrid associate degree in veterinary technology with separate program admission twice a year and internships with partner veterinary facilities.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician, eligible to take the VTNE and become certified in Colorado.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page says the degree prepares students for a career as a veterinary technician and the VTNE.“will prepare you for a career as a veterinary technician in five semesters”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Completing the AAS prepares students to take the Veterinary Technician National Exam; passing it allows certification as a veterinary technician in Colorado.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | Five semesters | – | Separate program admission after prerequisite courses (general biology, English, mathematics, approved elective) and 15 hours of animal care experience.Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: AVMA list entry 'Front Range Community College, Veterinary Research Technology Program', 4616 S. Shields, Ft. Collins, CO 80526; Associate of Applied Science. Next evaluation 2029.
Dates: 1 April 1996 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Blended with required campus elements
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Not published
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Internship and animal handling through partner veterinary hospitals and facilities; details not stated on the overview page.
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Five semesters
- Clinical components
- Internship and animal handling opportunities with partner veterinary hospitals and facilities.
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring
- Campus
- Fort Collins (Larimer) location listed by AVMA4616 S. Shields, Fort Collins, CO 80526
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredAt least 15 hours working or volunteering with animal care professionals.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Apply to FRCC, complete prerequisite courses (BIO 1111, ENG 1031 or 1021, MAT 1140 or higher, approved elective) before applying.
- Science prerequisites
- BIO 1111 General College Biology I with lab (within 10 years); BIO 2104 Microbiology with Lab is completed during the program.
- Documents
- Applications are available March 1 to June 1 for Fall and September 1 to November 1 for Spring (no year printed); program rabies vaccine requirement before enrollment.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)