Diploma
Veterinary Technician
Georgian College · School of Animal Health · Barrie, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Ontario College Diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusTwo years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year Ontario College Diploma. From fall 2026 classroom courses run at the Barrie Campus with clinic days temporarily at the existing Orillia veterinary clinic until a new Barrie clinic is complete.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates to work as registered veterinary technicians in animal healthcare.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Animal Health
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page presents the program as training for Registered Veterinary Technicians.“Graduates from our fully accredited program are job-ready and eligible to sit for the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE)”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to sit the VTNE toward becoming an RVT.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Two years | – | OSSD or equivalent, Grade 12 English and Mathematics, Grade 11 or 12 Biology and Chemistry, or mature student statusSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: Georgian College veterinary technician program, listed at Orillia (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed); the college is relocating classroom delivery to Barrie
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years
- Clinical components
- Clinic days at the Orillia veterinary clinic until the new Barrie clinic is complete
- Clinical placement
- Two field placements, equivalent of six weeks each, after the winter semester of years one and twoTwo placements of six weeks
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Barrie Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) or equivalent, or mature student status
- Science prerequisites
- Grade 12 English, Grade 12 Mathematics, Grade 11 or 12 Biology and Chemistry
- Documents
- Proof of current rabies vaccination or adequate titre before the start of the program
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)