Associate degree
Veterinary Technology
Hinds Community College · Agriculture Department - Veterinary Technology · Raymond, Mississippi, United States
- Official award
- Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campustwo-year program
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year program with a selection application and clinic observation requirement; a summer internship follows the second year.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students for entry-level veterinary technician positions once state and national exams are passed.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Agriculture Department - Veterinary Technology
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“When you graduate from the program and complete the certification exams for both state and national veterinary technicians, you will be a Certified Veterinary Technician (CVT).”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Associate of Applied Science
Dates: 1 April 1990 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- two-year program
- Clinical placement
- Internship: Summer following your second year
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Hinds Raymond Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredApplicant must complete a minimum of 40 hours of observation in a clinic. These observation hours must be within six (6) months of the application date.
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)