Associate degree
Veterinary Technician
Iowa Lakes Community College · Veterinary Technician AAS program · Emmetsburg, Iowa, United States
- Official award
- Associate in Applied Science (77 credits)AAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus5 terms
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Five-term, 77-credit associate program with an on-site animal clinic and an internship; admits 24 students per year.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students to assist veterinarians and to take the VTNE and the Iowa state technician exam.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technician AAS program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“Veterinary technicians play a critical role in animal healthcare, assisting veterinarians in medical procedures, laboratory testing, and client communication.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Associate in Applied Science (CVTEA list address: Estherville)
Dates: 1 March 2013 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 5 terms
- Credits
- 77 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical placement
- INTERNSHIP
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Iowa Lakes Emmetsburg campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredComplete a Veterinary Job shadow and complete the required observation forms.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Graduate from an accredited high school; cumulative GPA of 2.80 or higher, or HiSET of 45 or higher, or GED of 550 higher
- Science prerequisites
- Introductory College Biology or higher (or one year of high school biology); Introduction to College General Chemistry or higher (or one year of high school chemistry)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)