Veterinary Schools

Professional doctorate

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) Program

Iowa State University · Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine · Ames, Iowa, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for United States
Format
On campusFour years (years 1-3 fall and spring; year 4 summer, fall and spring)
Tuition
$31,360per year, 2026-2027 academic year

About this program

Four-year DVM program with three years in the classroom followed by a fourth year of clinical rotations, including a summer session, in the small animal and large animal hospitals.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The college says graduates are prepared as practice-ready veterinarians and that the program is accredited by the AVMA Council on Education.“At the conclusion of the program, Iowa State students are prepared as “practice-ready” veterinarians.”Source
Prior degree required
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
After pre-veterinary courseworkthree classroom years plus a clinical fourth year–64 semester credits completed by the end of spring of the entry year; specified foundational courses; a bachelor's degree is not requiredSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Iowa State University DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2031 (as printed)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Four years (years 1-3 fall and spring; year 4 summer, fall and spring)
Clinical components
Fourth-year clinical rotations in the small animal and large animal hospitals; species track options in year four
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine (Ames)1800 Christensen Drive, Ames, IA 50011-1134

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience recommendedGoal of at least 200 hours of veterinary, animal or research experience; no minimum hours required.
Interview
No interview
Previous qualification
Cumulative undergraduate GPA 2.5; required science GPA cutoff set yearly (2.8 for the 2027 cycle); 64 semester credits by end of spring
Science prerequisites
Specified foundational courses equivalent to Iowa State courses, plus an upper-level biomedical course requirement
Prior degree
Bachelor's degree not required
Tests explicitly required
CASPer is no longer used effective for the 2025-26 admissions cycle.
Documents
VMCAS application; ISU Veterinary Medicine Supplemental Application; three electronic letters of evaluation (at least one from a veterinarian strongly recommended)
Deadlines
  • VMCAS application deadline for the 2027 entering class: September 15, 2026, 11:59 pm EDT; supplemental application also due September 15, 2026 · 2027 entering class · this date has passed; check the current cycle
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition, years 1-3, Iowa resident (2026-2027)Tuition · mandatory$31,360per year, 2026-2027 academic yearIowa resident19 October 2026Source
Tuition, years 1-3, non-resident (2026-2027)Tuition · mandatory$65,938per year, 2026-2027 academic yearNon-resident19 October 2026Source
Tuition, year 4, Iowa resident (2026-2027)Tuition · mandatory$30,492per year, 2026-2027 academic yearIowa resident19 October 2026Source
Tuition, year 4, non-resident (2026-2027)Tuition · mandatory$52,248per year, 2026-2027 academic yearNon-resident19 October 2026Source
One-time computer fee for first-year studentsEquipment and protective clothing · mandatory$2,650one-time, first yearFirst-year students19 October 2026Source
Fees (2026-2027)Other compulsory charge · mandatory$1,586per year, 2026-2027 academic yearResident and non-resident19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • College of Veterinary Medicine DVM scholarships (VMCAS application serves as scholarship application for incoming students) Scholarship

    Competitive · More than $2 million in scholarships and awards annually

    Eligibility: DVM students; incoming students considered through VMCAS

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, clinical placement details.

Sources and how this was checked