Veterinary Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Science in Veterinary Preventive Medicine

Iowa State University · Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine · Ames, Iowa, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Master of Science in Veterinary Preventive MedicineMS
Pathway
Not classified
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Master's in population animal health with thesis (32 credits) or creative-component (36 credits) options, listed as available online or in person.

Subject
Veterinary preventive medicine
Department
Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
Pathway
Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Credits
32 credits (32 thesis; 36 creative component)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Thesis or dissertation
Thesis option (4+ chapters) or creative component option
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine (Ames)1800 Christensen Drive, Ames, IA 50011-1134

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Differences by campus or pathway
The department lists delivery as online or in person; this record is filed as the on-campus option. Online details not published on the fetched page.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Acceptance by a major professor before admission
Documents
Graduate application with statement of purpose; TOEFL/IELTS for non-native speakers; transcripts; three letters of recommendation
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction