Research doctorate (PhD)
PhD in Veterinary Microbiology
Iowa State University · Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine · Ames, Iowa, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Veterinary MicrobiologyPhD
- Pathway
- Science and researchStated for United States
- Format
- On campusAt least three years for the PhD
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
72-credit research doctorate in veterinary microbiology, usually requiring at least three years.
- Subject
- Veterinary microbiology
- Department
- Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate with a veterinary focus. It does not qualify anyone to practise as a veterinarian.
- Pathway
- Veterinary science and researchAcademic and research programs (veterinary science, biomedical sciences, public health, epidemiology, pathology and similar). They do not by themselves qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
- Why we classify it this way
- Research doctorate in veterinary microbiology; not an entry-to-practice qualification.“Our Department offers a graduate program in Veterinary Microbiology with these options”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- At least three years for the PhD
- Credits
- 72 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine (Ames)1800 Christensen Drive, Ames, IA 50011-1134
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- Veterinary Microbiology and Preventive Medicine
- Previous qualifications
- The MS degree is not a prerequisite for the PhD program
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)