Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology

Iowa Western Community College · Veterinary Technology program · Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied Science degree in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campustwo-year degree
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Two-year associate degree with hands-on surgical labs; students accepted into the program must obtain pre-exposure rabies vaccines.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technology program
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“Veterinary Technologists assist veterinarians in the examination, diagnosis, treatment, and care of animals in a veterinary clinic, animal hospital, or research facility.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Associate of Applied Science

    Dates: 2 March 2007 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
two-year degree
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Iowa Western Council Bluffs campus2700 College Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51502

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction