Associate degree
Veterinary Technology (distance education)
Jefferson State Community College · Veterinary Technology Program · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied ScienceAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- Hybrid
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
A distance-education associate degree for Alabama-based veterinary assistants and workers, with online theory and clinical skills completed in the student's own approved veterinary workplace.
Role the program prepares for: Licensed Veterinary Technician, working under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page says it is a pathway toward becoming a Licensed Veterinary Technician for experienced veterinary assistants.“providing a structured pathway toward earning their credentials and becoming a Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT).”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- To become an LVT in Alabama one must graduate from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program and pass both the VTNE and the Alabama State Boards.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Distance Learning Program, 2601 Carson Road, Birmingham, AL 35215-3098; Associate of Applied Science. Next evaluation 2029.
Dates: 16 March 2007 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Mostly online
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Not published
- Laboratory work
- Most required clinical skills are performed at the student's own veterinary clinic; travel will most likely be required for large animal and laboratory animal clinics.
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Students must work or volunteer for a veterinarian at least 20 hours per week in a veterinary facility located within Alabama; they may be required to come to Jefferson State or another clinic about 1-2 times each semester.
- Placement arrangement
- Student arranges the placement
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Yes
- Placement site approval
- Yes
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Enrollment restrictions
- The program is for students who live and work within the state of Alabama.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Clinical components
- A VET 250 Veterinary Tech Preceptorship consists of one academic semester of work experience in an approved clinical site.
- Campus attendance
- Occasional visits to campus or another clinic each semester for clinical requirements not available at the student's clinic.
- Clinical placement
- Approved clinical site in Alabama; student works or volunteers at least 20 hours per week.Minimum of 20 hours per week
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredApplicants must accumulate a minimum of 360 hours of veterinary clinical experience, and attend an informational meeting before applying.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Admission to the college; minimum overall GPA of 2.5 with prerequisite courses completed with a grade of C or higher.
- Science prerequisites
- BIO 103 Principles of Biology (4 hrs), ENG 101, and humanities, mathematics, computer, speech and social-science electives.
- Documents
- Application windows are April 1 - May 31 (for the following Fall) and August 1 - September 30 (for the following Spring); no year is printed. Statement of interest; two recommendation letters (one from a veterinarian); clinical experience verification form signed by a veterinarian; informational-meeting certificate; clinical site application and memorandum of agreement signed by a veterinarian.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)