Associate degree
Veterinary Medical Technology
Joliet Junior College · Agricultural Sciences & Veterinary Technology · Joliet, Illinois, United States
- Official award
- Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFull-time students complete program in 2-years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Competitive-entry associate degree combining classroom learning with laboratory and clinical experience for students aiming to become certified veterinary technicians.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students to become certified veterinary technicians.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Agricultural Sciences & Veterinary Technology
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“Designed for students who wish to become certified veterinary technicians (CVT)s”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to take the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) for licensure in Illinois; the page says the A.A.S. is not intended to meet the requirements for application to veterinary school.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Medical Technology (listed as Agriculture Sciences Department), Associate of Applied Science
Dates: 1 March 2001 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Full-time students complete program in 2-years
- Clinical components
- Combines classroom learning with hands-on laboratory and clinical experience
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Joliet Junior College main campus1215 Houbolt Road, Joliet, IL 60431
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- Apply between APRIL 1st through MAY 1st each year · fall (as printed: each year) (2026)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)