Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Kansas State University · Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine · Manhattan, Kansas, Kansas, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- $629.13per credit, 2026-2027
About this program
Four-year program with three years of pre-clinical classroom instruction followed by one year of clinical training in the Veterinary Health Center, built on at least 64 hours of pre-professional requirements.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The college states graduates will demonstrate competency in the practice of medicine and surgery across a broad range of species.“demonstrate competency in knowledge, skills, values, attitudes, aptitudes and behaviors in the practice of medicine and surgery applicable to a broad range of species”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | four-year professional curriculum | 64 | Minimum 64 hours of pre-professional requirements; a bachelor's degree is not requiredSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Kansas State University DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2031 (as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Clinical components
- One year of clinical training in the Veterinary Health Center
- Clinical placement
- Mentorships, internships and externships are described as opportunities
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine (Manhattan)1710 Denison Ave, Manhattan, KS 66506-5601
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not publishedVMCAS submission deadline is September 15 each year (the page does not print the year).
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Prerequisite courses with a minimum 2.800 GPA and a minimum 2.800 GPA in the last 45 semester hours; no grade lower than C- in a required course
- Science prerequisites
- 64 semester hours of required prerequisite courses completed by the end of spring before entry; no prerequisites waived
- Prior degree
- Bachelor's degree not required
- Tests explicitly required
- GRE not required since February 2020.
- Documents
- VMCAS application; KSU supplemental application (US$50 non-refundable fee); one required letter of recommendation from a veterinarian; personal statement and CV
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Veterinary Medicine (DVM) tuition per credit hour, Kansas resident (2026-2027)Tuition · mandatory | $629.13per credit, 2026-2027 | Kansas Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Veterinary Medicine (DVM) tuition per credit hour, nonresident (2026-2027)Tuition · mandatory | $1,426.62per credit, 2026-2027 | Nonresident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Veterinary Medicine technology fee per semesterOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $450per semester, 2026-2027 | Veterinary Medicine fees | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)