Associate degree
Veterinary Technician
Kirkwood Community College · Veterinary Technician program · Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science degreeAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus2 years (6 terms including summers)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year, six-term associate degree with an entrance exam and a set of minimum cut scores for admission.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technician program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“Veterinary technicians provide professional technical support to veterinarians, biomedical researchers and other scientists.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Animal Health Technology Program, Associate of Applied Science (CVTEA list name)
Dates: 1 April 1989 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 2 years (6 terms including summers)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Kirkwood Cedar Rapids campus6301 Kirkwood Boulevard SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52406
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Tests explicitly required
- Prospective students for the Veterinary Technician program are required to take an entrance exam.
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)