Diploma
Veterinary Technology (blended learning diploma)
Lakeland College · School of Agricultural Sciences - Veterinary programs · Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
- Official award
- Veterinary Technology blended learning diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- HybridTwo years
- Tuition
- CA$7,605per year, 2026-27
Hybrid program
About this program
Two-year blended diploma with all lectures online on a fixed schedule with mandatory attendance, five campus visits for labs in Vermilion and a six-week practicum. Open to Canadian citizens and permanent residents only.
Role the program prepares for: Delivers the same veterinary technology diploma outcomes as the on-campus program in a blended format.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Agricultural Sciences - Veterinary programs
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The blended program mirrors the on-campus veterinary technology program, whose graduates may write the VTNE (see the on-campus page).“Like the in-person program, you will complete a six-week practicum to gain hands-on experience.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- International applicants and graduates
- Only Canadian citizens and permanent residents may enrol.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Two years, blended | – | Same admission requirements as the on-campus programSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Not verifiedCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: CVMA list entry for Lakeland's Vermilion program; the list does not separately name the blended delivery, the college states the whole program is nationally accredited
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Mostly online
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Yes
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Five campus visits, each with approximately 11 days of lab work
- Laboratory work
- Labs held in person at the Animal Health Clinic on the Vermilion campus; virtual labs also scheduled online
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Six-week practicum for hands-on experience, arranged at an approved vet clinic or animal hospital
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live sessions required
- International enrolment
- No
- Enrollment restrictions
- This program is only available to Canadian citizens and permanent residents.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years
- Campus attendance
- Five campus visits of about 11 days of lab work each
- Clinical placement
- Six-week practicum6 weeks
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Vermilion Campus5707 College Drive, Vermilion, Alberta T9X 1K5
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Proof of English language proficiency required
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 40 hours of work experience at a veterinary clinic within the past two years; evaluation form due by July 31.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- High school diploma
- Science prerequisites
- English 30-1 (50%) or 30-2 (65%), Math 30-1 or 30-2 (60%), Biology 30 (60%), Chemistry 30 (50%)
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and program fees, year 1 (domestic)Tuition | CA$7,605per year, 2026-27 | Domestic 2026-27 tuition and program fees | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition and program fees, year 2 (domestic)Tuition | CA$7,418per year, 2026-27 | Domestic 2026-27 tuition and program fees | 19 October 2026Source |
| Mandatory fees per year (domestic)Other compulsory charge | CA$783per year, 2026-27 | Domestic 2026-27 mandatory fees | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: CA$15,210 (Domestic students). Calculated from published annual tuition for 2026-27 x 2 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes clinical and laboratory charges, equipment, travel, placement expenses and other charges.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)