Diploma
Veterinary Technology (diploma, face-to-face)
Lakeland College · School of Agricultural Sciences - Veterinary programs · Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
- Official award
- Veterinary Technology diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusTwo years
- Tuition
- CA$7,413per year, 2026-27
About this program
Two-year face-to-face diploma at Vermilion with training in Lakeland's Animal Health Clinic, small and large animals and a six-week practicum.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates to be members of a veterinary health care team and apply as registered veterinary technologists.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Agricultural Sciences - Veterinary programs
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says graduates may write the VTNE and apply to be RVTs.“After graduation, you are eligible to write the VTNE and apply to be a registered veterinary technologist (RVT)”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to write the VTNE and apply to be RVTs.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Two years | – | High school diploma with required 30-level courses and 40 hours of vet clinic work experienceSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: Lakeland College veterinary technology, Vermilion (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years
- Clinical components
- Hands-on clinical experience at the college's Animal Health Clinic with small and large animals
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Vermilion Campus5707 College Drive, Vermilion, Alberta T9X 1K5
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Proof of English language proficiency required
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 40 hours of work experience at a veterinary clinic within the past two years; evaluation form due by July 31.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- High school diploma
- Science prerequisites
- English 30-1 (50%) or 30-2 (65%), Math 30-1 or 30-2 (60%), Biology 30 (60%), Chemistry 30 (50%)
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and program fees, year 1 (domestic)Tuition | CA$7,413per year, 2026-27 | Domestic 2026-27 tuition and program fees | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition and program fees, year 2 (domestic)Tuition | CA$7,337per year, 2026-27 | Domestic 2026-27 tuition and program fees | 19 October 2026Source |
| Mandatory fees per year (domestic)Other compulsory charge | CA$954per year, 2026-27 | Domestic 2026-27 mandatory fees | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: CA$14,826 (Domestic students). Calculated from published annual tuition for 2026-27 x 2 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes clinical and laboratory charges, equipment, travel, placement expenses and other charges.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)