Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM), Harrogate
Lincoln Memorial University · Richard A. Gillespie College of Veterinary Medicine · Harrogate, Tennessee, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campus4 years
- Tuition
- $58,200per year, Year 1 projection (academic year not printed)
About this program
Four-year DVM with fall and spring cohorts, pre-clinical teaching at Harrogate and clinical education at the DeBusk Veterinary Teaching Center and a network of distributed practice partners.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Richard A. Gillespie College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states the 4-year DVM program enables students to become veterinarians competent in medical knowledge and clinical skills.“4-year Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) program enables students to become confident and competent veterinarians”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | 4-year program | – | Prerequisite coursework (minimum 46 semester units)Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationProvisional or probationary statusUS
Scope: DVM program, Lincoln Memorial University (Harrogate, TN); Probationary Accreditation (major deficiency in Standard 10, Research Program); last evaluation 2019, next evaluation 2026
Further requirements: AVMA lists a major deficiency in Standard 10, Research Program.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationProvisional or probationary statusUS
Scope: School statement: full accreditation granted January 7, 2019; placed on probationary accreditation October 24, 2024 for a major deficiency in Standard 10 (Research)
Dates: 7 January 2019 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 4 years
- Clinical components
- Distributed clinical education through a network of community practice partners, public and corporate organisations and agencies.
- Intakes
- Fall cohort (August), Spring cohort (January)
- Campus
- Harrogate campus (Gillespie College of Veterinary Medicine)6965 Cumberland Gap Parkway, Harrogate, TN 37752
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Interview required
- Science prerequisites
- Biology 8, genetics 3, biochemistry 3, advanced science electives 8, organic chemistry 3, general chemistry 6, physics 3, anatomy 3, physiology 3, English 3, social sciences 3 (semester units); minimum 46; science prerequisites within 10 years.
- Documents
- VMCAS application, LMU-CVM supplemental application, essays, letters of recommendation.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Projected tuition, Year 1 (9-month budget)Tuition · mandatory | $58,200per year, Year 1 projection (academic year not printed) | Doctor of Veterinary Medicine 4-Year Cost of Attendance Projection | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: $232,800 (All students). Calculated from published annual tuition for Year 1 projection (academic year not printed) x 4 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes clinical and laboratory charges, equipment, travel, placement expenses and other charges.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)