Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Medical Technology (BS VMT), online
Lincoln Memorial University · Richard A. Gillespie College of Veterinary Medicine · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Medical TechnologyBS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- Online
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Degree-completion bachelor program offered exclusively online for licensed veterinary technicians who graduated from an AVMA-CVTEA accredited technician program.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Richard A. Gillespie College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The BS VMT builds on an accredited AS/AAS veterinary technician qualification with advanced and specialised courses.“desire to further their education in a variety of advanced and specialized courses”Source
- Prior degree required
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Existing professional qualification required | Not published | – | Current veterinary medical technician license and graduation from an AVMA-CVTEA accredited technician programSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: The AVMA CVTEA entry lists Associate of Science and Bachelor of Science under the Lincoln Memorial University Veterinary Medical Technology Program (Harrogate, TN); the entry does not separately describe the online BS delivery
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Not published
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Not stated on the program page; applicants already hold a veterinary technician license.
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Required professional status or prior education
- Current veterinary medical technician license; graduate of an AVMA-CVTEA accredited technician program
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- AS/AAS from an AVMA-CVTEA accredited veterinary technician program; additional general education may be required.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)