Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Long Island University · Lewyt College of Veterinary Medicine · Brookville, New York, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- $61,938per year, 2026-2027 academic year
About this program
DVM program preparing practice-ready veterinarians, with a clinical year of at least 40 weeks at inspected partner sites and on-campus clerkships.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Lewyt College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the DVM program prepares competent, practice-ready veterinary professionals who can join the workforce day-one competent.“will prepare competent and compassionate practice-ready veterinary professionals”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Not published | 60 | At least 60 credits of postsecondary education; minimum overall GPA 2.8; prerequisite coursesSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationConditional statusUS
Scope: DVM program, Long Island University (Brookville, NY); listed as Provisional Accreditation (not full accreditation); last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2027
Further requirements: Provisional accreditation applies to a new program in its early cohorts; full accreditation is considered later.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Not published
- Clinical components
- Clinical year with at least 40 weeks of hands-on experience; required clerkships total 28 weeks plus electives up to 12 weeks at LIU campus and partner sites.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Brookville campus (Lewyt College of Veterinary Medicine)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience recommendedRelevant animal, veterinary and research experiences are reviewed; no minimum hours stated.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- At least 60 credits of postsecondary education; minimum overall GPA 2.8 (preference above 3.2 and for baccalaureate holders).
- Science prerequisites
- Biology 1 or zoology 3, biology 2 or zoology 3, general chemistry with lab 4, organic chemistry with lab 4, biochemistry 3, genetics 3, statistics or calculus 3, English composition 3 (26 credits); C or better; within 6 years except statistics/calculus and English.
- Tests explicitly required
- Casper situational judgement test is part of the non-academic review.
- Documents
- Personal statements/essays, three letters of reference.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, first-year studentTuition · mandatory | $61,938per year, 2026-2027 academic year | 1st Year Student | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition, fourth-year studentTuition · mandatory | $77,439per year, 2026-2027 academic year | 4th Year Student | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, intakes, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)