Veterinary Schools

Professional doctorate

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)

Louisiana State University · LSU School of Veterinary Medicine · Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for United States
Format
On campusFour years
Tuition
$14,684.75per semester, Fall 2026

About this program

Four-year DVM program with Phase I didactic study in years one and two and fall of year three, then Phase II clinical rotations in the Veterinary Teaching Hospital from spring of year three.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
LSU School of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The school describes the 4-year DVM program, publishes NAVLE outcomes and states it is accredited by the AVMA Council on Education.“LSU Vet Med utilizes the VMCAS Application and is an American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) Member institution accredited by the Council on Education (COE).”Source
Prior degree required
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
After pre-veterinary coursework4-year DVM program–Minimum 66 semester credit hours including 44 credits of prerequisite coursework, completed by the spring before matriculation, each with C- or betterSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Louisiana State University DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2019, next evaluation 2026 (as printed)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Four years
Clinical components
Phase II: rotations in the Veterinary Teaching Hospital from spring of Year III
Intakes
Not published
Campus
LSU School of Veterinary Medicine (Baton Rouge)1213 Skip Bertman Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70803

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not publishedInterviews are held at the school's discretion each year; none were held in the 2024-2026 cycles.
Interview
Interview possible
Science prerequisites
44 semester credits of prerequisite coursework including general biology/zoology, general chemistry and organic chemistry with labs, biochemistry and others; C- or better
Prior degree
Bachelor's degree not required; minimum 66 semester credit hours
Documents
VMCAS application with the LSU Vet Med Supplemental Application; three letters of recommendation through VMCAS, including one from a veterinarian; US$100 processing fee
Deadlines
  • VMCAS application closes September 15, 2026 at 10:59 PM CT; LSU US$100 processing fee due October 1, 2026 · Class of 2031 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition and required fees, Fall 2026 semester, 15 hours, Louisiana residentTuition · mandatory$14,684.75per semester, Fall 2026Resident19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
Tuition and required fees, Fall 2026 semester, 15 hours, non-residentTuition · mandatory$30,494.75per semester, Fall 2026Non-Resident19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • LSU internal scholarships (available after matriculation, not for incoming students) Scholarship

    Competitive

    Eligibility: DVM students after matriculation

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.

Sources and how this was checked