Veterinary Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

PhD in Biomedical and Veterinary Medical Sciences

Louisiana State University · LSU School of Veterinary Medicine · Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical and Veterinary Medical SciencesPhD
Pathway
Science and researchStated for United States
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Research doctorate offered through the school's Comparative Biomedical Sciences, Pathobiological Sciences and Veterinary Clinical Sciences departments.

Subject
Veterinary biomedical sciences
Department
LSU School of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate with a veterinary focus. It does not qualify anyone to practise as a veterinarian.
Pathway
Veterinary science and researchAcademic and research programs (veterinary science, biomedical sciences, public health, epidemiology, pathology and similar). They do not by themselves qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
Why we classify it this way
Research doctorate in the veterinary school's departments; the page says candidates need not have a veterinary research interest, so it is not an entry-to-practice qualification.“LSU Vet Med is a biomedical research institution as well as a veterinary school.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
LSU School of Veterinary Medicine (Baton Rouge)1213 Skip Bertman Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70803

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Documents
Application through the LSU Graduate School portal (on-campus; program Biomedical and Veterinary Medical Sciences)
Official instructions
Application instructions

Research degree details

Department
Comparative Biomedical Sciences; Pathobiological Sciences; Veterinary Clinical Sciences
Research themes
  • cancer biology
  • disease processes
  • cardiovascular disease
  • infectious and parasitic diseases
  • neurosciences
  • toxicology
  • bacteriology
Study modes
On-campus application

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction