Associate degree
Veterinary Technician Associate Degree
Madison Area Technical College · School of Health Sciences - Veterinary Technician program · Madison, Wisconsin, United States
- Official award
- Associate Degree in Veterinary Technician (Associate in Applied Science)AAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus64 Credits | Finish degree in 2 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
64-credit associate degree taught at the Truax campus; the program has limited capacity of 72 places each fall and may use a waiting list.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Health Sciences - Veterinary Technician program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program leads to work as a Veterinary Technician and, after the VTNE, certification.“Earning your Associate Degree in Applied Science program at Madison Area Technical College prepares you for valuable work as a Veterinary Technician or Laboratory Animal Technician.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technician Program, Madison, WI; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation November 1974; next evaluation 2027
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 64 Credits | Finish degree in 2 years
- Credits
- 64 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Fall
- Campus
- Truax campus1701 Wright Street, Madison, WI 53704
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Students must meet academic preparedness requirements and complete the declaration process; program capacity 72 spots each fall; waiting list if capacity is reached.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estimated Program CostOther compulsory charge | $12,088.06whole program, estimate shown on page (year not stated) | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)