Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technician Associate Degree - Satellite path

Madison Area Technical College · School of Health Sciences - Veterinary Technician program · Madison, Wisconsin, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate Degree in Veterinary Technician (Satellite path)AAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
Hybrid
Tuition
Not published

Hybrid program

Part of this program is taught in person. It is not described as fully online. Professional pathway status is recorded separately from delivery.

About this program

Semi-remote path for people already working as veterinary assistants: theory is online and hands-on skills are completed in select face-to-face labs.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
School of Health Sciences - Veterinary Technician program
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
Same Veterinary Technician program page; the Satellite path is one of two paths to becoming a Veterinary Technician.“Madison College offers two paths to becoming a Veterinary Technician.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Mostly online
Mandatory campus attendance
Yes
Laboratory work
Hands-on skills are completed during select face-to-face labs.
Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
Satellite students are employed as veterinary assistants, working an average of 20 hours per week in a veterinary clinic.
Placement arrangement
Student arranges the placement
Must already work in a veterinary setting
Yes
Placement site approval
Not published
Required professional status or prior education
Employed as a veterinary assistant
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Truax campus1701 Wright Street, Madison, WI 53704

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Estimated Program CostOther compulsory charge$12,088.06whole program, estimate shown on page (year not stated)All students19 October 2026Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 19 October 2026)

Suggest a correction